Select Page

Electronic Travel Authorisation -ETA-

April 23, 2024

What is it?

An ETA is an advance travel permission required by specified non-visa nationals when coming to the UK as a visitor or transiting the UK.

Who needs it?

Currently nationals of Quatar, Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia will need to apply for permission before travel.

Will the system be extended to other non-visa nationals?

Yes. Watch this space!- The Home Office has announced that during 2024 more countries will be added, including nationals from the EU.

How can I apply?

The application can be made through the ‘UK ETA App’

Or online on GOV.UK

You need to pay a fee, provide contact and passport details, provide a valid digital photo, answer a set of questions.

How much does it cost?

The ETA costs £10, permits multiple journeys, and is valid for two years or until the holder’s passport expires (whichever is sooner).

What if I am refused an ETA?

If you are refused an ETA, it’s not the end of the road. You can apply for a visa to seek permission to come to the UK.

What are reasons for a refusal?

A criminal record, previous breach of immigration law-wordwide-, false representations, debt to the NHS grounds, and unpaid litigation costs can be grounds for a refusal.

Please contact our immigration team for assistance with all queries relating to business migration and immigration in the UK

The material contained in this article is provided for general purposes only and does not constitute legal or other professional advice. Appropriate legal advice should be sought for specific circumstances and before action is taken. 

© Miller Rosenfalck LLP, April 2024